AP & Big 12 Coaches Hand Out Postseason Awards to K-Staters


The Associated Press named K-State quarterback Collin Klein its Big 12 offensive player of the year.  He received 14 of 18 votes from media who regularly cover the league.  West Virginia’s Tavon Austin got three votes, and Baylor’s Terrence Williams the other.

TCU freshman defensive end Devonte Fields won the Big 12 defensive player of the year from the AP.  He received seven votes, while K-State linebacker Arthur Brown received four.

The Big 12 conference postseason football awards were handed out on Wednesday morning, as voted on by the league’s coaches, who cannot vote for their own players.

Klein was named Big 12 offensive player offensive player of the year.  Brown was named the Big 12 defensive player of the year by the league’s coaches.  Brown had 91 tackles this season for K-State, including six for loss.  He picked off two passes, plus had a sack and a fumble recovery.

K-State defensive end Meshak Williams has experienced a breakout season for the Cats, and was named the Big 12 defensive lineman of the year.  Williams led the league with 9.5 sackes, and also piled up a team-high 13.5 tackles for loss.  He also forced three fumbles, and broke up four passes.

The Big 12 coaches’ also released their all-league teams.  K-State placed seven players on the first team, Klein, running back John Hubert, tight end Travis Tannahill, offensive lineman Cornelius Lucas, Williams, Brown, and defensive back Ty Zimmerman.   K-State also had four second team all-Big 12 coaches’ selections, wide receiver Chris Harper, placekicker Anthony Cantele, defensive linemen Adam Davis & Vai Lutui.  Linebacker Jarrell Childs, punter Ryan Doerr, offensive lineman BJ Finney, wide receiver Tyler Lockett, kick returner/punt returner Tramaine Thompson, and offensive lineman Cody Whitehair also received honorable mention.

The AP also received their say as they release their all-Big 12 team.  First team members from K-State included Finney, Tannahill, Klein, Williams (unanimous), Brown (unanimous), Zimmerman.  On the second team for the Cats was Lucas, Lockett at all-purpose, Cantele, Davis, and defensive back Nigel Malone.  The AP gave honorable mention to  offensive lineman Tavon Rooks, Braden Wilson as a tight end, Harper, Lockett at wide receiver, Hubert, Childs, Doerr, Klein as all-purpose.

For full video wrap-ups, including analysis, highlights, coaches & player interviews of K-State Football & Basketball check out PowerCatGameday.com

*** Get Updates and Alerts on all things KSU on your phone! text EMAW to 88474 ***


About Author

Leave A Reply