Cats Grab Big 12 Coach, Player of the Year


K-State dominated the Big 12 postseason awards with seven first team All-Big 12 selections and four individual award winners.

Brad Hill picked up his second Big 12 Coach of the Year award after leading K-State to it’s first league championship since 1933. Hill also won the award in 2009 after taking the program to it’s first ever NCAA regional. The Wildcats, who were picked to finish seventh in the Big 12 preseason poll, made the biggest jump by a regular season champion in Big 12 history.

Junior infielder Ross Kivett took home Big 12 Player of the Year honors, joining Nick Martini (2010) as the second Wildcat ever to win the award. Kivett was second in the league with a .376 batting average in Big 12 play and had 23 multi-hit games this year. He had a .439 on-base percentage in league games and stole 24 bases this season as well.

Freshman pitcher Jake Matthys is the first Wildcat to ever win Big 12 Freshman of the Year honors. Matthys was 8-0 with a 2.01 ERA and five saves this season while holding Big 12 opponents to a .186 batting average.

Junior outfielder Jared King shared the Big 12 Scholar Athlete of the Year award with Jantzen Witte from TCU. King is a two-time Academic All-Big 12 first team selection who holds a 3.52 GPA.

Shane Conlon (INF), Austin Fisher (INF), Blair DeBord (C) and Tanner Witt (UTL) joined Kivett, Matthys and King on the All-Big 12 first team. The seven selections tied Baylor (2012) for the Big 12 record. Senior outfielder Jon Davis also picked up honorable mention All-Big 12 honors. Freshman pitcher Levi MaVorhis was named to the All-Big 12 Freshman team along with Matthys.

Stay connected to all things KSU on the go just text EMAW to 88474

For full video wrap-ups, including analysis, highlights, coaches & player interviews of K-State Football & Basketball check out


About Author

John Kurtz

Leave A Reply