Kansas cowboy poetry contest winners move on to nationals


2019 State Champions: (left to right) Danny McCurry and Scott Wiswell. Courtesy photo

MANHATTAN — The Flint Hills Discovery Center was akin to a wild prairie Friday night for the finals of the Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest. Dinner jackets, t-shirts and cowboy hats represented the diverse crowd who listened intently to eight brave souls reciting their original Cowboy prose.

The poems fell into two categories; Serious and Humor. Some told sweeping stories of cowboy life and landscapes…

      Cowboy serious 2

Others chose more whimsical tales of renegade possums and tough-skin cowgirls…

      Cowboy 1

The winners, Scott Wisewell of Valley City for Serious and Danny McCurry from Ash Grove, Missouri on the Humorous side will don the coveted Governors belt buckle and represent Kansas in the National Cowboy Poetry Rodeo in Abilene on August 2nd and 3rd.

2019 Judges: (left to right) Brooke Lennington, Lawton Nuss, Lynne Hinrichsen, Bill Snyder, Nancy Kassebaum Baker, Megan Moser, Mark Nutsch, Mike Dodson. Courtesy photo

Photo by Peter K Nyblom/KMAN


Comments are closed.