Multiple city government, school board seats to be on November Riley County ballot


The filing deadline for elections in Riley County is coming up on June 3 and multiple seats are available across the area.

Three seats are up for election in the City of Manhattan. Commission positions currently held by Mike Dodson, Linda Morse and Jerred McKee will be on the ballot in November. Commissioner McKee has previously said he will not seek re-election. Former Manhattan-Ogden USD 383 School Board member Aaron Estabrook is currently the only candidate to file.

The City of Riley will be voting for its mayor as well as two council positions — all of which have four-year terms. The mayor’s seat is currently filled by Tim Sharp, the available council seats by Darci Pottroff and Jeremy Ballard.

Six seats are up for grabs in Ogden. Open positions include mayor, currently Robert Pence Jr., as well as all seats on the council. Current councilors include Ed Burch, Ken Carrol, Roger Graham, Quinn Jacobs and Eladio Reid. All terms last two years in Ogden. Mayor Pence is currently the only candidate to file.

The City of Randolph will have six seats available in November. The position of mayor, currently held by Bruce Zimmer, as well as every council seat — current members being Donna Baer, Jane Dunstan, Tamera Redding, Harold Higgins, David Innes — will be up for election. The terms for all positions last two years.

Residents in the City of Leonardville will be able to vote on four positions. The mayor’s seat, currently held by Mike Johnson, will be on the ballot as will three council positions. Current councilors in those positions are Evadne Olson, Jim Olson and Emily Huffman.

School boards across the county are also holding elections. Manhattan-Ogden USD 383 has four seats available, currently held by Curt Herrman, David Colburn, Darrell Edie and Leah Fliter. USD 378 Riley County Schools has four seats open as well, currently held by Kyle Bohnenblust, Shane Allen, Randy O’Boyle and Jarred Larson. Blue Valley-Randolph USD 384 will also have four seats on the ballot, currently held by Jason Anderson, David Innes, Stephen Corkill and Jamie Peter.

The last day to register to vote in the general election is October 15. Primary elections are set for August 6 the election is scheduled for November 5.

Filing requirements and fees vary by organization. Questions can be forwarded to Riley County Clerk Rich Vargo at 785-537-6300.


About Author

Comments are closed.