Jake Waters on Davey O’Brien watch list


The Davey O’Brien Foundation released the preseason watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, it’s presented annually to the best quarterback in college football.

Last year’s winner was Jameis Winston and he’s back on the list again this season with 38 other quarterbacks.

Kansas State quarterback Jake Waters is one of five Big 12 quarterbacks to earn the preseason honor. Waters is joined by Baylor’s Bryce Petty, Oklahoma’s Trevor Knight, Oklahoma State’s J.W. Walsh and Texas Tech’s Davis Webb.

Last season, Waters completed 61.2% of his passes for 2,469 yards and 18 touchdowns. He closed out the season with his best performance, leading the Wildcats to a bowl win over Michigan 31-14. Waters completed 21 of 27 passes in that game for 271 yards and three touchdowns.


About Author

Brandon Tadtman

Leave A Reply