Finney, Whitehair and Mueller on Watch Lists


B.J. Finney, Cody Whitehair and Ryan Mueller are the latest Wildcats to be added to award watch lists in a week that’s been full of honors for K-State.

Finney and Whitehair are each on the Outland Trophy watch list, given to the nation’s best interior defensive lineman. Mueller is a candidate for the most outstanding defensive player of the year in college football after being named to the Bronko Nagurski Award watch list.

K-State is one of only four schools nationally to have multiple players on the Outland Trophy watch list. Finney is on the list for a second straight season. Seven other Big 12 players join Finney and Whitehair on the list.

It’s Mueller’s first appearance on the Nagurski watch list, and he is also a candidate for the Bednarik Award and the Lott IMPACT Trophy.

Here’s the full rundown of K-State players on award watch lists so far:

Jack Cantele: Lou Groza Award (best kicker)
B.J. Finney: Outland Trophy (best interior lineman), Rimington Trophy (best center)
Tyler Lockett: Maxwell Award (best player), Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player)
Ryan Mueller: Bednarik Award (best defensive player), Nagurski Award (best defensive player), Lott IMPACT Trophy (defensive player with biggest impact on and off the field)
Jake Waters: Maxwell Award (best player)
Cody Whitehair: (Outland Trophy)


About Author

John Kurtz

Leave A Reply