K-State to Induct Ten Into Hall of Fame


K-State will honor a group of 10 outstanding individuals with induction into its Athletics Hall of Fame this October, school officials announced on Monday.

The list includes a pair of former men’s basketball players, Roy DeWitz and Steve Henson.  DeWitz played at K-State from 1956 until 1958, and was named a 1st team all-American & all-Big Eight performer in ’58 as he helped lead the Cats to the Final Four.  Henson is the only Wildcat to play in four NCAA tournaments during his career from 1986 to 1990, as he was a two-time honorable mention all-American and all-Big Eight selection.  He was also honored for being a three-year letterwinner in track and field as a decathlete.

Austra Skuyte was the only woman in history to be a four-time Olympic heptathlete, winning a silver medal 2004, and finishing in 5th place during the 2012 London games.  Skuyte was a Wildcat in 2001 and 2002, is also the only woman in school history to win multiple NCAA championships.

Among the many players who helped Bill Snyder build the early foundation at K-State was Jaime Mendez, who played from 1990 to 1993.  He was a consensus first team all-American safety in 1993, earned all-Big Eight honors three times, and was a semifinalist for Thorpe Award during his senior year.

Lauren Goehring led K-State to its only Big 12 title in volleyball in 2003 during a four-year standout career that started in 2000.  Goehring was a named a first team all-American, and was tabbed Big 12 Player of the Year on the way to the Cats’ #3 national ranking & the Sweet 16.  She also was tabbed to the all-Big 12 first team in 2002.

Tammie Romstad was one of the pioneers of the K-State women’s basketball program from 1978 until 1982.  Her jersey hangs in the rafters at Bramlage Coliseum, and she once was the school single-season leader in points and rebounds.  Romstad was pegged a third all-American in 1982.

Yana Dorodnova starred as a women’s tennis player at K-State from 1996-98, and has advanced the farthest in the NCAA Tournament than any other Wildcat when she reached the quarterfinals in 1998.  The product of Moscow, Russia, ended her career as a two-time all-Big 12 singles honoree and a two-time all-Big 12 doubles recipient.

Other inductees include former K-State athletic director H.B. “Beeb” Lee, former department physician Dr. Richard Baker, and contributors Jack and Joann Goldstein.

The 2013 class of the K-State Athletics Hall of Fame is the first since 2008.


About Author

Leave A Reply