Klein Edged Out in Orlando by Te’o & Manziel


K-State quarterback Collin Klein is guaranteed to pick up a trophy on Friday night when he accepts the Johnny Unitas Award in Baltimore, MD.  Much to Wildcat fans’ chagrin, Klein didn’t leave Orlando and the ESPN Collge Football College Football Awards with any hardware.

Klein was up for three awards, but  it was largely a night for Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’0.  Besides winning the Chuck Bednarik Award, which goes to the nation’s top defensive player, Te’o also claimed the Maxwell and Walter Camp Awards.  Both of those honors go to the nation’s top player, and the native Hawaiian beat out both Klein and Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel.  The Aggie freshman became the first to win the Davey O’ Brien Award, beating out Klein and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller.

Klein, Manziel, and Te’o are the three finalists for the 78th Heisman Trophy on Saturday night at the Downtown Athletic Club in New York City.  The event begins at 7:00pm central time, and can be heard on SportsRadio 1350 KMAN from ESPN Radio.

Stay connected to all things KSU on the go just text EMAW to 88474

For full video wrap-ups, including analysis, highlights, coaches & player interviews of K-State Football & Basketball check out PowerCatGameday.com


About Author

Leave A Reply