Mall named Centennial COY; Four Indians honored


MANHATTAN, Kan. – Manhattan’s Scott Mall was named Centennial League Coach of the Year while four Indians were selected to the All-Centennial League teams, as the league coaches handed out 2012 awards on Monday.

Mall guided the Tribe to a perfect 13-0 mark in Centennial League games en route to Manhattan’s second league title in the past three seasons. Additionally, Mall’s Indians earned a spot in the 6A state tournament for the first time since 1991 after defeating Wichita Southeast and Washburn Rural to claim the Topeka High [Bracket B] Sub-State Championship.

Senior forward Mari Jo Massanet was a first-team selection and near unanimous pick as the league’s Most Valuable Player. Massenet led the Tribe in scoring, rebounding, assists, steals, and blocks this past season. Earning All-Centennial League honors every year at Manhattan, Massanet will leave as the school’s all-time leading rebounder and third leading scorer.

After directing the Indians offense all season long, senior point guard Onyeka Ehie was named to the All-Centennial League second team roster. Ehie led the team in 3-point makes (30) and finished second on the team in scoring (8.6 ppg).

Making the honorable mention team was sophomore Darby Price. A first-year starter, Price finished second on the team in rebounding a third in scoring.

Jenna Cruisenberry, senior, was named to the All-Centennial League Defensive Team.



Kelsey Akin, 5-9 sr., Seaman; Shanise Brooks, 6-1 sr., Highland Park; Autura Campbell, 6-2 jr., Topeka West; Erika Lane, 5-10 jr., Washburn Rural; Mari Jo Massanet, 5-11 sr., Manhattan.


Mallory Diederich, 5-7 sr., Seaman; Devyn Edwards, 5-7 sr., Highland Park; Onyeka Ehie, 5-7 sr., Manhattan; Nicole Federico, 5-11 sr., Hayden; Brianna Knight, 5-10 jr., Emporia.


Emporia: Emily Burris, sr. Hayden: Mary Lawlor, sr.; Sarah Pimentel, jr. Junction City: Peyton Pender, jr. Manhattan: Darby Price, so. Seaman: Shelby Slimmer, sr. Shawnee Heights: Danielle Poblarp, jr. Topeka High: Jasmine Benning, sr. Topeka West: Ashley Grant, sr. Washburn Rural: Charly Michaelis, jr.; Courtney Winkley, so.


Autura Campbell, jr., Topeka West; Krystal Corhn, sr., Topeka High; Jenna Crusinberry, sr., Manhattan; Mallory Diederich, sr., Seaman; Peyton Pender, jr., Junction City; Sarah Pimentel, jr., Hayden; Delores Smith, sr., Highland Park; Shelby Starr, sr., Emporia; Hannah Weingartner, jr., Washburn Rural; Bailey Wells, so., Shawnee Heights.

Player of the year — Mari Jo Massanet, Manhattan

Newcomer of the year — Brianna Knight, jr., Emporia

Coach of the year — Scott Mall, Manhattan



About Author

KMAN Staff

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Brianna knight | Goneibors

Leave A Reply