Pair of Wildcats nominated for national awards


Two K-State defenders make the cut as national award semifinalists.

Junior defensive back Nigel Malone is one of 15 players nationally to be named a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s most outstanding defensive back, and linebacker Arthur Brown has been named a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.  Malone is the first Wildcat up for the award since Terence Newman was the award winner in 2002. He is also the fourth K-State defensive back to earn semifinalist status.  Brown is the lone representative from the Big 12. He is the second player in school history to be considered for the award after defensive back Chris Canty was a finalist in 1996.


About Author


Leave A Reply