WBCA Taps K-State’s Patterson


Kansas State Women’s Basketball Coach Deb Patterson has been elected Treasurer on the Executive Committee of the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. The announcement was made on Thursday. Below is the complete release from Kansas State Athletics Communications.

MANHATTAN, Kan. – Kansas State head women’s basketball coach Deb Patterson has been elected to serve on the executive committee as the treasurer for the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) in an announcement by the organization on Thursday.

Patterson started her initial appointment with the WBCA Board of Directors prior to the start of the 2011-12 season, as she was appointed to fill a vacant at-large Division I position.

Additional changes to the WBCA Executive Committee and Board of Directors for the 2013-14 season include: Florida State head coach Sue Semrau ascends to the presidency for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 seasons, Penn State head coach Coquese Washington has been elected as the new vice-president/president elect and Kentucky head coach Matthew Mitchell has been appointed to serve the remaining two years of Beth Burns’ term as the association secretary. Burns resigned her position on the board following her retirement from San Diego State earlier this year.

The WBCA Board of Directors develops policies, procedures and regulations for the operation of the organization. They also monitor the organization’s financial health, programs and overall performance and provide the chief executive officer with the resources to meet the needs of those the organization serves.

Patterson will be entering her 18th season at the helm of the K-State women’s basketball program for the 2013-14 season. During her time in Manhattan, she is a three-time winner of the WBCA District V Coach of the Year award (2002, 2003 and 2008) while also finishing as a three-time finalist for the organization’s National Coach of the Year award.

In addition to her honors from the WBCA, Patterson is a two-time Big 12 Coach of the Year recipient (2002 and 2008) and is the career wins leader for women’s basketball at K-State with a mark of 339-207 (.621).

Playing with seven players for the final 19 games of the 2012-13 season, Kansas State reached the postseason for the 11th time in the last 12 seasons by appearing in the 2013 WNIT. The Wildcats advanced to the semifinals of the WNIT for the third time in the program’s four appearances in the tournament.

For the 2013-14 season, K-State has signed five players: forwards Breanna Lewis, Jessica Sheble and Erica Young and guards Jai Murphy and Kindred Wesemann. Lewis, Sheble and Young all check in at 6-3 or taller with Lewis at 6-5, and Sheble and Young at 6-3. Lewis will be tied for the second-tallest player in K-State women’s basketball history and the tallest on the roster since Nicole Ohlde (2001-04). Sheble and Young are the seventh and eighth players in the program’s history to check in at a height of 6-3.

In addition to its five signees for the 2013-14 season, K-State returns five players that saw significant action in the 2012-13 season, including sophomore-to-be Bri Craig and junior-to-be Haley Texada.

About the WBCA:
Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association promotes women’s basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game in all of its aspects as a sport for women and girls. For more information about the WBCA, visit wbca.org.

Stay connected to all things KSU on the go just text EMAW to 88474
For full video wrap-ups, including analysis, highlights, coaches & player interviews of K-State Football & Basketball check out PowerCatGameday.com


About Author

Erik Stone

Leave A Reply