Big 12 officially welcomes BYU, UCF, Cincinnati and Houston


It’s official, the Big 12 membership is going back to 12 members schools, like its name suggests.

On Friday, the conference approved membership applications from BYU, UCF, Cincinnati and Houston. How quickly the teams begin competing in athletics is still to be determined. BYU, which has been an independent athletic institution, says all of its sports will begin Big 12 schedules in the 2023-24 athletic season.

The other three schools compete in the American Athletic Conference, which requires a 27 month notice for schools wanting to leave the conference. It’s expected they’ll begin competing no later than July 1, 2024.

Oklahoma and Texas announced earlier this summer plans to exit the Big 12 for the Southeastern Conference no later than 2025.

At a news conference Friday, Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby confirmed that the Big 12 basketball tournament will continue to be played in Kansas City through at least 2025.

BYU Athletic Director Tom Holmoe said Friday the Big 12 football will feature two divisions once the transition is completed.

K-State Athletic Director welcomed the four new schools in a tweet Friday afternoon.

Additional schools could be announced as the Big 12 tries to position itself as a legitimate Power 5 conference going forward. For more reaction to the Big 12 expansion news, tune in to “The Game” with John Kurtz or tune into “The Game” podcast at





About Author

KMAN News Director and host of In Focus. Contact Brandon at

Comments are closed.