Four Wildcats Make All-Big 12 Preseason Team


According to K-State Athletics, Kansas State totaled four football players named to the Preseason All-Big 12 team as chosen by media representatives who cover the league, the conference office announced Wednesday.

Winston Dimel (fullback), Dalton Risner (offensive line) and D.J. Reed (defensive back) were joined by sophomore Reggie Walker (defensive line) to give the Wildcats the third-most players on the list behind Texas and defending champion Oklahoma. Dimel was named to the preseason team for a second-straight year, while the other three are first-time honorees.

Dimel, Risner and Reed each earned 2016 First Team All-Big 12 honors from the league’s coaches, while Walker was the Defensive Freshman of the Year, as they led K-State to a 9-4 record and a victory in the Texas Bowl.

2017 All-Big 12 Preseason Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, QB
Defensive Player of the Year: Dorance Armstrong Jr., Kansas, DE
Newcomer of the Year: Will Grier, West Virginia, QB

QB Baker Mayfield Oklahoma
RB Justice Hill Oklahoma State
RB Justin Crawford West Virginia
FB Winston Dimel Kansas State
WR James Washingtonm Oklahoma State
WR Allen Lazard Iowa State
WR Keke Coutee Texas Tech
TE Mark Andrews Oklahoma
OL Orlando Brown Oklahoma
OL Connor Williams Texas
OL Dalton Risner Kansas State
OL Austin Schlottmann TCU
OL Zach Crabtree Oklahoma State
PK Clayton Hatfield Texas Tech
KR/PR KaVontae Turpin TCU

DL Dorance Armstrong Jr. Kansas
DL K.J. Smith Baylor
DL Reggie Walker Kansas State
DL Poona Ford Texas
DL Malcolm Roach Texas
LB Travin Howard TCU
LB Ogbonnia Okoronkwo Oklahoma
LB Malik Jefferson Texas
DB D.J. Reed Kansas State
DB Jordan Thomas Oklahoma
DB Tre Flowers Oklahoma State
DB Kamari Cotton-Moya Iowa State
DB Nick Orr TCU
P Michael Dickson Texas


About Author

Mitch Fortner

Comments are closed.