Kansas Legislators to Pick Chamber Leaders


TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) Kansas Republican legislators are meeting in the Statehouse to choose the next Senate president and speaker of the House.

Monday’s elections will be held by returning incumbents and those taking office for the first time in January. Republicans will outnumber Democrats during the upcoming session 32-8 in the Senate and 92-33 in the House.

Party primaries in August saw the conservative wing of the Republican Party oust several moderates, including Senate President Steve Morris. In the House, Speaker Mike O’Neal decided to retire after 28 years in the chamber, including two terms as speaker.

Democrats are expected to re-elect Anthony Hensley, of Topeka, as Senate minority leader and Paul Davis, of Lawrence, as House minority leader.

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback issued a statement regarding the election.

“Congratulations to the newly-elected leaders of the Kansas Legislature.  The upcoming session offers us great opportunities to continue our work to grow the Kansas economy, create jobs and improve eduaction.  I look forward to working with Senate President Susan Wagle, the state’s first woman senate president, House Speaker Ray Merrick, Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley, House Minority Leader Paul Davis adn their leadership teams.”


About Author

KMAN Staff

Leave A Reply